Recipe: Vegan “Boozy Beef”

Found here and tweaked a bit.

It’s a version of the absolutely delicious “Chili Colorado” from Epcot’s 2012 Food & Wine Festival. It didn’t taste exactly like that, probably due to my tweaks, but it was pretty close. (At a guess, I’d say the Epcot version had a slightly more molé-ish type sauce, and, as noted in the linked recipe, included chopped bell pepper, too.) What it really reminded me of was a recipe my Gram used to make that she called “Boozy Beef,” which is one of the only meat dishes I still crave as a vegetarian. It was basically beef tips in a very thick red sauce that I think involved burgundy, and we ate it over rice.

This probably isn’t much like that, either, but it comes awfully close to my memory of it, and it’s really, really tasty.

Ingredients

1 package of Gardein Beefless Tips

2 dried chipotle chilies (the original calls for milder guajillo chiles, but I could only find chipotles)

2 T. extra virgin olive oil

2 T. balsamic vinegar

1 finely chopped small onion (I used about 3/4 of a medium-sized Vidalia)

2/3 cup vegetable broth

2-3 cloves garlic

1/4 c. tomato sauce

Instructions

Because my kitchen isn’t well-ventilated, I hesitate to dry-toast chiles in it, and I had chipotles, so I figured they were smoky-tasting enough. So I cut the stems off the chiles, put them in a saucepan with 3 c. water, brought it to a boil, then took it off the heat and let the chiles soak while I prepared the other ingredients. I didn’t seed the chiles, and I didn’t find the final dish too spicy. You might want to seed them if you’re sensitive to spiciness.

Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat, then add the onion and frozen fake beef.

While that’s cooking, put the chiles in a food processor with the garlic and veggie broth, and process until smooth. Add the chile-soaking liquid if the sauce seems too thick–I didn’t need to use any of it.

Once the onions start to caramelize, add the balsamic vinegar to the skillet, along with the pureed chile mixture and the tomato sauce. Turn the heat down to low and simmer for about 20 minutes, or until the sauce reaches the consistency you want. Having noticed the aforementioned resemblance to Boozy Beef at this point, I reduced the sauce well past “sauce,” into the realm of “really thick glaze.” 🙂

Try not to taste it too much, or you won’t have enough to eat! I kept picking bits of fake beef out as it was cooking.

Serve over rice. I originally intended to put grated cheese on it, but it was so good without, I didn’t bother. I don’t have a picture, because even though I made it last night, it’s already all gone!

One response to “Recipe: Vegan “Boozy Beef”

Leave a Reply

